Filing For Divorce In Tennessee

Tennessee is currently ranked 14th in the country for highest divorce rate.  If you find yourself filing for divorce in Tennessee, you should know how to properly do so.   Tennessee courts will grant you a divorce on two types of grounds, fault and no-fault divorce.

Grounds for filing a no-fault divorce are:

  • Irreconcilable differences, where the spouse properly signs a marital dissolution agreement.
  • Living separate and apart without cohabitation for two years when there are no minor children.

Grounds for filing for a fault divorce are:

  • Impotence.
  • Adultery.
  • Convictions of a felony and imprisonment
  • Alcoholism or drug addiction.
  • Spouse is pregnant by another at the time of marriage with the husbands knowledge.
  • Willful desertion for a year.
  • Bigamy.
  • Endangering the life of the spouse.
  • Cruel and inhuman treatment or unsafe and improper marital conduct.
  • Abandonment, neglect, or banning the spouse from the home.

If you are planning to file for divorce in Tennessee and are in need of legal advice contact an experienced divorce attorney as soon as possible.